2024 – German HCI @ CHI in Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, USA

This year’s CHI conference will take place in Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, USA (May 11 – May 16, 2024). To honor the tradition of the German HCI event, we curated this website, including details on this year’s publications from involved labs of the German HCI community.


We curated a list of this year’s publications — including links to social media, lab websites, and supplemental material. We curated a list of this year’s publications — including links to social media, lab websites, and supplemental material. We have 58 full papers, 13 LBWs, one DC paper, and one Student Game Competition, and we lead five workshops. Two papers were awarded a best paper award, and four papers received an honourable mention.

Participating Labs

This year’s edition is a joint effort by nearly 30 labs from over 20 German Universities.

German HCI Event

Save the date! 🗓️ The German HCI event will happen on Wednesday, 15th May 2024, starting at 7 pm. Everyone with a CHI badge is welcome!

If you have a paper-based invitation, entry is guaranteed between 7 pm and 8 pm with this invitation. Thereafter, admission is subject to venue capacity.


Hawaiian Brian’s Social Club https://maps.app.goo.gl/CcUCaWqhgXUWqTrR6

Organizing Team

The organization of all the activities around the 2024 German HCI event was again a notable team effort from volunteers from all our labs. Here, we want to thank all the people involved!

Lead Organisation

  • Sukran Karaosmanoglu (University of Hamburg) – Lead
  • Julian Rasch (LMU Munich) – Lead

Lead Advisors

  • Anke Reinschlüssel (University of Konstanz) – Advisor / German HCI Editoral Board Liason
  • Johannes Zagermann (University of Konstanz) – Advisor / German HCI Editoral Board Liason

Website and Videos

  • Anke Brocker (RWTH Aachen University)
  • Heiko Müller (OFFIS – Institute for Information Technology, Oldenburg)
  • Tobias Wagner (Ulm University)
  • René Schäfer (RWTH Aachen University)

Social Media

  • Francesco Chiossi (LMU Munich)
  • Hai Dang (University of Bayreuth)
  • Max Pascher (University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Teodora Mitrevska (LMU Munich)


  • Clara Sayffaerth (LMU Munich)
  • Teodora Mitrevska (LMU Munich)

On-site Support

  • Konstantin Aal (University Siegen)
  • Donald Degraen (University Duisburg-Essen)
  • Sophie Grimme (OFFIS)
  • Saja Aljuneidi (OFFIS)
  • Luke Haliburton (LMU Munich)
  • Oliver Hein (University of the Bundeswehr Munich)
  • Christopher Katins (HU Berlin)